Search Now

Welcome to the new CALS Encyclopedia of Arkansas

The CALS Encyclopedia of Arkansas is a free, authoritative source of information about the rich history, geography, and culture of Arkansas. It is updated regularly to ensure the people of Arkansas have an accurate and accessible resource to explore our heritage. It will also benefit people outside the state who are seeking information about Arkansas. We invite you to browse our text entries and media galleries to learn more about the people, places, events, legends, and lore of the 25th state. The CALS Encyclopedia of Arkansas is a work in progress. We are continually adding new entries, photographs, maps, videos, and audio files, so check back frequently to see what’s new.

Photo Of The Day
St. John's Seminary Students

St. John’s Seminary opened in 1911 in Little Rock (Pulaski County) on Gaines Street as a wing of the Little Rock College for Boys. In its fifty-six-year run, the seminary produced hundreds of pastors, teachers, chaplains, and priests. The seminary was relocated to North Tyler Street in Little Rock’s Pulaski Heights neighborhood in 1916 but was closed in 1967 due to financial constraints and a shortage of trained faculty. Students are shown here in the 1940s wearing the full cassock and collar required of all students beginning with their freshman year in high school.

learn more
This Day in Arkansas History
August 23, 1924

The Berbig Corporation, which had operated a community-owned theater in Pine Bluff (Jefferson County) for about two years, was dissolved, and the theater was converted from a community-owned to a privately owned business. Renamed Community Theatre in 1922, the theater is now notable because it is one of the oldest of its single-screen, nickelodeon-type theaters in Arkansas. The building was used as part of the Pine Bluff Film Festival.

learn more